CUET Exam Pattern : Understanding the Exam Pattern of CUET

4 minutes, 4 seconds Read

The CUET exam pattern holds immense significance in the process of cracking the exam successfully! This comprehensive article is tailor-made for undergraduate students like yourself, aiming to provide you with a detailed overview of what you can expect when you sit for the CUET. Whether you are a first-time examinee embarking on this journey or an experienced test-taker seeking a refresher on the CUET format, this all-encompassing guide has got you covered. Our ultimate goal here is to demystify the exam pattern, shed light on the various sections, and equip you with the exact information you need in order to approach the CUET with unwavering confidence and preparedness. In the subsequent sections, we will delve into the specifics, handholding you through each stage of the CUET, so that you can navigate your way to undeniable success. Get ready to embark on this transformative journey, and let’s dive right in!

CUET: A Brief Introduction

The Common University Entrance Test (CUET), as the name suggests, is a common entrance exam conducted to determine student eligibility for undergraduate programs at several universities across India. The CUET is a competitive exam designed to assess a student’s aptitude, understanding, and knowledge in specific subjects. The test is divided into various sections, each aimed at evaluating different capabilities. Understanding the CUET format is essential as it arms you with the knowledge to build an effective study plan and helps you understand what examiners are looking for in successful candidates. This article will delve deeper into the specifics of the CUET exam pattern to better equip you for success. So, let’s get started on your journey to mastering the CUET!

CUET Exam Pattern

The CUET exam follows a structured format designed to gauge the student’s academic prowess and reasoning abilities. The test comprises four sections: Language Comprehension and Usage, Mathematical Skills, Logical Reasoning and Data Interpretation, and General Awareness.

Each section contains a specific number of questions, with each question carrying equal marks. Correct answers are awarded points, while incorrect answers may lead to a deduction of points if a negative marking scheme is in place.

The exam is typically conducted in online mode, within a specific time duration. The total time allotted for the exam will depend on the total number of questions. It’s important to note that time management is crucial in this exam, as it tests not only a candidate’s knowledge and understanding but also their ability to perform under pressure.

In the next sections, we will break down each component of the exam pattern in detail.

Section-wise Analysis

The three sections of the CUET exam are divided as follows:

  1. Section IA – 13 Languages (Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Gujarati, Odiya, Bengali, Assamese, Punjabi, English, Hindi and Urdu)
  2. Section IB – 20 Languages (French, Spanish, German, Nepali, Persian, Italian, Arabic, Sindhi, Kashmiri, Konkani, Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, Manipuri, Santhali, Tibetan, Japanese, Russian, Chinese, Sanskrit.)
  3. Section II – 27 Domain-specific Subjects
  4. Section III – General Test
CUET Exam Pattern 2023
Sections Subjects/ Tests No. of Questions To be Attempted Duration
Section IA 13 Languages 50 40 in each language 45 minutes for each language
Section IB 20 Languages
Section II 27 Domain-specific Subjects 45/50 35/40 45 minutes for each subject
Section III General Test 60 50 60 minutes

Domain-Specific Subjects- CUET Exam Pattern

Below is the list of 27 Domain-Specific subjects mentioned in the revised CUET Exam Pattern. Candidates can select a maximum of 6 subjects from the list provided.

  1. Accountancy/BookKeeping
  2. Biology/ Biological Studies/ Biotechnology/Biochemistry
  3. Business Studies
  4. Chemistry
  5. Computer Science/ Informatics Practices
  6. Economics/ Business Economics
  7. Engineering Graphics
  8. Entrepreneurship
  9. Geography/Geology
  10. History
  11. Home Science
  12. Knowledge Tradition and Practices of India
  13. Legal Studies
  14. Environmental Science
  15. Mathematics
  16. Physical Education/ NCC /Yoga
  17. Physics
  18. Political Science
  19. Psychology
  20. Sociology
  21. Teaching Aptitude
  22. Agriculture
  23. Mass Media/ Mass Communication
  24. Anthropology
  25. Fine Arts/ Visual Arts (Sculpture/ Painting)/Commercial Arts,
  26. Performing Arts – (i) Dance (Kathak/ Bharatnatyam/ Oddisi/ Kathakali/Kuchipudi/ Manipuri (ii) Drama- Theatre (iii) Music General (Hindustani/ Carnatic/ Rabindra Sangeet/ Percussion/ Non-Percussion)
  27. Sanskrit

Marking Scheme for CUET

The marking scheme for CUET (Common University Entrance Test) is an important aspect for candidates to understand, as it allows them to strategize their test-taking approach effectively. For each correct answer, candidates are awarded 5 marks. However, incorrect responses result in a deduction of 1 mark (negative marking). No marks are deducted for questions that are left unanswered. Therefore, it is advisable for candidates only to answer questions when they are confident of the accuracy, to avoid unnecessary loss of marks. This marking scheme applies uniformly across all sections of the CUET exam.


In conclusion, the CUET (Common University Entrance Test) is a comprehensive and rigorous examination that requires thorough preparation across diverse subjects. The marking scheme, which includes negative markings for incorrect responses, demands strategic answering to maximize scores. As such, understanding the exam pattern and tailoring your study plan accordingly can significantly enhance your performance. Remember, confidence in your answers is key to avoiding unnecessary loss of marks. Study well, strategize smartly, and approach the CUET with a clear understanding to ensure success.

Similar Posts